The Media Institute in Southern Africa has awarded News Diggers! as the best online publication in Zambia.

News Diggers editor Mukosha Funga received the award of behalf of the two-months-old news publication.

“We owe this award to all of you the 33,000 readers so far who have liked our page. We value each comment you post on our stories and of course we are grateful for the constructive criticism your throw at us. News Diggers is not only about investigative reporting but professionalism and objective reporting. This award is proof that we are on course to claiming our space on the media landscape in Zambia,” said Funga.

Others winners under the special recognition Awards are as follows:

Most interactive community radio: Yatsani Radio

Best interviewer: Grevazio Zulu

Best political analyst: Alex N’goma

Best economics analyst: Glian Lwando

Best cartoonist: Choklet (The Mast)

Best columnist: Stanislas Ngosa (Times of Zambia)

Media freedom award: Joan Chirwa (The Post).

Best features writer: Tiyese Njovu (Daily Nation)

Best coverage: Muvi TV

Best TV presenter: Jona Dingindaba Muyoya (Diamond TV)

Best online publication: News Diggers

Best social media opinion leader: Laura Miti

Best Radio presenter: Phadi Mkando (Radio Phoenix)

Best labour relations award
Print: Charity Moonga Times of Zambia
Tv: Mwape Kumwenda Muvi TV
Best child labour reporting award
Print Annie Zulu
Tv Mwape Kumwenda

BEST Social protection award
Joseph Phiri ZNBC
Best anti corruption reporting
Print Sylvester Mwale
Radio Patrick Soko 5 FM
TV Katwishi Bwalya ZNBC

BEST insurance reporting award
Radio: Mwaka Nyimbili (Hot FM)
No entries in print and TV
Economy reporting
Print: Charles Mafa (Bulletin & Record – News Diggers)
Radio: Logic Lukwanda (Hot fm)
TV: Macpherson Mukuka (ZNBC)
Print: Charity Moonga (Times)
Radio: Christopher kachisi Kabangabanga

Business reporting
TV: Mabvuto Phiri (muvi tv)
ZABS standardisation award
Print Stanslous Ngosa (Times)
TV: Penipher Nyirenda ZNBC
No entries form radio

Airtel Telecommunications Awards:
Nancy Siame (Daily Mail)
Radio: Mwaka Nyimbiri (Hot FM)
TV: Masauso Mukwayaya (ZNBC)

Best Energy reporting:
Print: Clever Mutinta (Daily Nation)
TV: Alexander Musokotwane (Muvi TV)

Agriculture reporting
Nkombo Kachemba print Daily Mail
Radio: Aurthr Sikopo Zambezi FM
TV: Brian Mwale

Health Misa award
Gethsemane Mwizali Provident journal
Radio Pamela Singala Chikuni Radio
Dainess Nyirenda Muvi Tv

Environment award
Print: Violet Mengo (Daily Mail)
Radio: Albert Mwinga (Byte FM)
TV: Penipher Nyirenda (ZNBC)

Habitat for Humanity:
Print: Dorothy Chisi (Times)
Radio: Richard Phiri (Hot FM)
TV: Tim Zulu (Muvi TV)

Radio documentary:
Mable Phiri (Radio Explorer)
Second prize: Vivian Mwale

Radio indepth reporting
Mable Phiri (Radio Explorer

Sexual reproductive health
Charity Moonga (Times)
Thazi Chilinda (ZNBC)
Macpherson Mukuka

Water and Sanitation:
Print: Nkombo Kachemba (Daily Mail)
Radio: Memory Musamba (Christian Voice)
TV: Geoffrey Zyambo (QTV)

Land management:
Print: Bennie Mundando (Daily Nation)
Radio Patrick Soko (5fm)
TV: Tim Zulu (Muvi TV)

Hospitality & Tourism
Margaret Simulela (Daily Mail)
Bibian Mwale (Christian voice)
Tom Njovu (ZNBC)

TV: Justine Kabwisha (ZNBC)
Mwila Nsofu (ZNBC)

HVI/AIDS reporting
Print: Annie Zulu (Daily Nation)
Sikuka Situmbeko (Liseli)
Cheswa Kapasa (Muvi TV)

Stanislas Ngosa (Times)

Christine Mwaba (Times)
Etambuyo Katota (ZNBC)
Victoria Kalima (Hone Fm)