Nkana football club and Zanaco have already started breathing the unsettled air surrounding the 2018 Barclay’s cup. Kalampa Boys say they will be spitting flames in this year’s prestigious tournament while the bankers say they are not letting a coin escape their title confers.

In an interview with Goal Diggers! the Red Devils’ coach Bestone Chambeshi underscored the importance of acquiring a title this season.

“I have a very good team that does not really struggle to score goals. They are in good shape though others have minor injuries that cannot keep them off the pitch for a long time. So in the Barclay’s cup and the super league at large, we should spit the fire and burn our previous loses. Like any other team, we will play to win every game and at least get a title to ourselves. The game of football is a funny one because it is not predictable but the ball is round so it can go in our favour too. Extra effort and faith should help us win,” Chambeshi said.

Meanwhile, Zanaco football club also echoed on its dire need to retain the Barclay’s cup this year. Coach of the side Numba Mumamba recognised the pressure and toughness he would be served by other competing clubs. “When you are the title holder, every team will play to show that they too deserve the title you are holding and that they can get it from you. I’m sure there won’t be any easy game for us and we equally won’t let them get it on a silver platter. We want to keep it. We are training hard and improving on our scoring ways, as well as making sure the defence is intact. I’m also aware that Division 1 teams will play for their lives against super league teams so the competition they will give should not be underrated,” Mumamba said.

According to the list availed by FAZ on its facebook page, Green Buffaloes, Lusaka Dynamos, Manchester United Zambia Academy Football Club, Mufulira Wanderers, Nkana Football Club, Power Dynamos, Real Nakonde, Young Buffaloes, Zesco United and the defending champions Zanaco are the clubs that will compete in the tournament this year.

“We are pleased to confirm that your clubs have qualified to participate in the 2018 competition.Draws for the 2018 edition will be held on August 21, 2018 in Lusaka. As per standard practice, the competition will kickoff with a double header involving the four (04) Division One clubs at Nkoloma Stadium on Saturday, 25th August, 2018.” Julio Chiluba stated in a correspondence letter to the successful teams.

Zanaco lifted the trophy after beating Napsa Stars 2-1 at National Heroes Stadium.