Zambian National Soccer team skipper Rainford Kalaba will tonight be in contention for the CAF African based footballer of the year award.

Kalaba had an excellent season with Congolese giants TP Mazembe and was crucial in leading them to glory in the CAF Confederations Cup; emerging as top scorer with eight goals.

The Chipolopolo captain will however face stiff competition from Ugandan goalkeeper Denis Onyango and Zimbabwean midfielder Khama Billiat who both play for 2016 CAF champions league winner Mamelodi Sundowns.

According to a list released by CAF yesterday, the former Zesco united midfielder has also been named in Africa best eleven and will be hoping to be named in the history of Africa’s football elites as the first ever Zambian to win the CAF

African based footballer of the year award.

The Full list of nominees is as follows;
‘Goalkeeper: Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns) Defenders: serge Aurier (Cote d’ivoire & Paris Saint-Germain), Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric Bailly (Cote d’ivoire & Manchester united), Joyce Lomalisa (Dr Congo & As vita)
Midfielders: Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe), Keegan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns),
Forwards: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester city)’.

Zambia’s other representation at the CAF awards are MTN/FAZ Super Division runners-up and 2016 CAF Champions League semifinalists who have been nominated for the best club of the year alongside DR Congo’s TP Mazembe and South Africa’s Mamelodi Sundowns.

The 2016 Glo-CAF Awards Gala will be held tonight at the International Conference Centre in Abuja, Nigeria.