President Edgar Lungu will not be renewing the contract for Secretary to the Cabinet Dr Roland Msiska, which ends on February 20, 2019, State House has announced.

In a statement containing various reshuffles at Permanent Secretary level, President Lungu’s Press Aide Amos Chanda stated that the Head of State has assigned Dr Msiska to head the Zambia Atomic Agency (AMATOM), while Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet in charge of administration Patrick Kangwa has been appointed to act as Secretary to the Cabinet starting next month.

“Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of General Education Dr Felix Phiri goes to Luapula Province in the same capacity, taking over from Dr Buleti Nsemukila who goes to Eastern Province. Permanent Secretary for Eastern Province Chanda Kasolo has since been transferred to the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, taking over from Geoffrey Malama whose contract has not been renewed,” Chanda announced.

“Central Province Permanent Secretary Chanda Kabwe becomes National Coordinator for the Disaster Management and Mitigation Unit (DMMU) under the office of the Vice-President, taking over from Ms Yande Mwape who becomes Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Chiefs and Traditional Affairs. The contract for the Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Chiefs and Traditional Affairs Michael Pwete has not been renewed.”

He said the President has also sent Permanent Secretary for Management Development Division (MDD) at Cabinet Office Ndashe Yumba to the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources, swapping with his counterpart Trevor Kaunda.

“Permanent Secretary for Community Development and Social Services Dr Leah Mutale goes to the Ministry of Home Affairs, responsible for refugees in the same capacity while her counterpart at the Ministry of Home Affairs Ms Pamela Kabamba moves to the Ministry of Community Development and Social Services. Dr Jobbix Kalumba, Permanent Secretary for Muchinga Province has been transferred to Ministry of General Education in the same capacity. In his place, deputy Permanent Secretary for Copperbelt Province Joyce Nsamba has since been promoted to head Muchinga Province as Permanent Secretary,” stated Chanda.

“Meanwhile, Director of Infrastructure at the Ministry of Health Mulalelo Kakulubelwa has been promoted to Permanent Secretary responsible for administration at the same Ministry. Permanent Secretary in charge of Technical Services at the Ministry of Health Dr Jabbin Mulwanda moves to Cabinet Office on holding position. And Deputy Permanent Secretary for Western Province Bernard Chomba has been promoted to Pemanent Secretary for Central Province. Deputy Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs Willies Manjimela becomes Permanent Secretary for North Western Province, taking over from Ephraim Mateyo whose contract has not been renewed. Mwinilunga District Commissioner Danny Bukali becomes Deputy Permanent Secretary for Western Province.”

In the Zambia Police, President Lungu has transferred Eastern Province Police Commissioner, Alex Chilufya to Police Service Headquarters in charge of operations. The President has also transferred Lusaka Division Deputy Commissioner Geoffrey Kunda to Eastern Province in the same Capacity, taking over from Sharon Zulu who moves to Lusaka in the same Capacity.