PF acting president Given Lubinda says the party needs K5 million to host the general conference scheduled for June, appealing to members and sympathisers to make contributions.

And Lubinda has appointed 16 members to the Central Committee, among them, Matero PF member of parliament Miles Sampa and Lusaka Lawyer Makebi Zulu.

Meanwhile, PF has announced that the party has lifted suspensions of party members that were suspended for various disciplinary offences in North-Western Province.

According to a statement issued by PF acting secretary general Nickson Chilangwa, Saturday, the party would soon avail to the public details of an account where contributions for the conference could be deposited.

“I wish to inform members of the Patriotic Front and members of the general public that the Central Committee of the Patriotic Front today met to deliberate on a number of matters concerning the Party and the nation. The meeting was chaired by the Party’s Acting President, honorable Given Lubinda. The Central Committee has made a number of resolutions which among others include the following: the Committee tasked to plan and prepare for the forthcoming Extraordinary General Conference slated for June presented a progress report to the Central Committee on the progress it has made this far,” read the statement.

“The Central Committee was informed that the budget to host the Conference is estimated to be around K5 million and that a total of 1250 delegates plus a host of both local and foreign dignitaries are expected to attend the Conference were the Party will elect a new Party President following the retirement of President Edgar Chagwa Lungu from active politics. The Central Committee is hereby encouraging all members and sympathisers of the Party to make contributions towards the hosting of this very important Conference. The Party shall soon avail to the public, details of an account where contributions for the Conference shall be deposited.”

And Chilangwa stated that the total number of members of the central committee had now risen to 72.

“Meanwhile, the Committee will continue engaging the party structures in all the provinces to build consensus on all matters incidental to the forthcoming Conference. Central Committee has since directed the Committee to give it further updates with regards to the progress made in the next two weeks. In accordance with the powers given to the Acting President as outlined in Article 61 of the Party Constitution and following the resolution of the Central Committee of 4th March, 2022, the following people have been appointed as Members of the Central Committee of the Patriotic Front: honorable George Chisanga MP, honorable Robert Kalimi MP, Elias Daka (Eliboma), MP. Honorable Miles Sampa MP, honorable Melisiana Chibwe Phiri MP,” he said.

“Honorable Makebi Zulu, Davies Chisopa, MP, Alexander Chiteme and Gabriel Kibombwe. Bright Tombi-Tombi, Mrs Purity Muhone and Mrs Brenda Silumesi. Mrs Anne Nelson, Mrs Thabiso S. Mizinga, Mr. Evans Lawrence and Mrs Michelle Phiri Kazala. The total number of Members of the Central Committee has now risen to 72, with 8 more slots remaining to be filled.”

Chilangwa announced that Davies Chama was appointed to serve as deputy national chairperson in charge of strategy and politics, while Jean Kapata was appointed as Deputy National Women’s Chairperson.

“In accordance with Article 59, read together with the provisions of Article 61 of the Party Constitution, the Acting President has appointed the following to various Committees of the Central Committee: Hon. Davies Chama, National Chairperson, Deputy National Chairperson in-charge of Strategy and Politics, Hon. Musonda Mpankata, MP, Deputy National Chairperson in-charge of Administration, Hon. Jean Kapata, Deputy National Women’s Chairperson, Ms. Kavumbu Hakachima, Deputy National Chairperson, Finance, Mrs. Michelle Phiri Kazala, National Chairperson – Legal, Hon. George Chisanga,MP,” read the statement.

“Deputy National Chairperson – Legal, Hon. Tutwa Ngulube, National Chairperson – Agriculture, Hon. Michael Katambo, MP, National Chairperson – Livestock and Fisheries, Hon. Evans Lawrence, National Chairperson – Commerce, Hon. Sylvia Chalikosa. National Chairperson – Industry, Hon. Frank Ng’ambi. National Chairperson – Local Government, Hon. Miles Sampa, Deputy National Chairperson – Local Government and Housing, Mrs. Monica Mwale Mwansa, Deputy National Chairperson.”

He added that former Mines minister Richard Musukwa was appointed as national chairperson for mining, while Daniel Kalembe was appointed Lusaka Province Provincial Youth Chairman.

“Mrs Annie Tischer, National Chairperson in Charge of Transport and Communication is Hon. Davies Chisopa, MP, National Chairperson – Mining, Hon. Richard Musukwa, National Chairperson – Sports and Recreation, Mr. Kebby Mbewe, Deputy National Chairperson – Elections, Ms. Mundia Mundale, Deputy National Chairperson – Mobilisation, Hon. Robert Kalimi, MP, National Chairperson- Energy, Hon. Mwimba Malama,” read the statement.

“Further, the following have been appointed accordingly; Mr. Billy Sichamba has been appointed as Central Province Provincial Chairman and he will be deputised by honorable Sydney Mushanga, MP. Additionally, the Acting President has with immediate effect appointed Mr Daniel Kalembe as Lusaka Province Provincial Youth Chairman, Mr Webster Lungu as the Provincial Treasurer, Ms Phoebe Moyo as Vice Women’s Treasurer and Ms Esnara Nkhoma as Provincial Women’s Information and Publicity Secretary.”

Meanwhile, Chilangwa urged all party members to be loyal.

“The Acting President has with immediate effect lifted all suspensions of members of the Party that were suspended for various disciplinary offences in North-Western Province. This follows the show of remorse and reform that the affected individuals have shown. Further, this has been done in the interest of Party unity and peace. I wish to reiterate that discipline and respect for authority should continue to be the bedrock of the Party. We, therefore, call upon all members of the Patriotic Front to remain loyal and disciplined in order to ensure that the Party remain strong and united,” stated Chilangwa.