THE NATIONAL Assembly has unanimously approved the abolishing, creation and realigning of ministries.

The Ministry of Gender has been dissolved and moved to the Office of the President while the Ministry of Chiefs and Traditional Affairs has been abolished and realigned to the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development.

And the Ministry of National Guidance and Religious Affairs has been dissolved and turned into a department in the Office of the Vice-President.

Meanwhile, the UPND government has appointed Stafford Mulusa as government chief whip and Princess Kasune as deputy government chief whip, while PF has appointed Brian Mundubile as leader of the opposition and Stephen Kampyongo as its party whip.

During business of the House, Tuesday, Vice-President Mutale Nalumango moved a motion to approve the proposed establishments, merger and dissolution of government ministries.

“Madam Speaker, I beg to move that in line with article 92 sub article (2) (d) of the constitution of Zambia, this House approved the dissolution, realignment and establishment of government ministries established by the President as appended hereto. Under article 92 sub article (2) (d) of the constitution, the President is empowered to establish, merge and dissolve government ministries subject to the approval of this House. As you may recall, the Republican President Mr Hakainde Hichilema in his official address to this August House on Friday, 10th September 2021, made reference to the establishment of some government ministries,” Vice-President Nalumango said.

“We have accordingly brought this motion to request the House to approve the proposed establishments, merger and dissolution of government ministries. The proposals by the President are intended to rationalize and enhance existing structures to ensure prudence in the quest of our government to provide improved services to its people. This will foster development and growth of industries as well as support scientific research that will yield the relevant dividends for current and future generations.”

Vice-President Nalumango said 17 ministries were proposed for dissolutions.

“Madam Speaker, the ministries that are being proposed for dissolutions are the following; Ministry of Home Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of National Development Planning, Ministry of Higher Education, Ministry of Local government, Ministry of Tourism and Arts, Ministry of Water, Development, Sanitation and Environment Protection. Ministry of General Education, Ministry of Housing and Infrastructure Development, Ministry of Works and Supply, Ministry of Transport and Communications, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting Services, Ministry of Gender, Ministry of Chiefs and Traditional Affairs, Ministry of Youth, Sports and Child Development and Ministry of National Guidance and Religious Affairs,” she said.

The Vice-President outlined the ministries that were proposed for establishment and merger.

“The Ministries that are being proposed for establishment and merger are the following; Ministry of Home Affairs and Internal Security, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Ministry of Finance and National Planning, Ministry of Technology and Science. Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development, Ministry of Tourism, Ministry of Water Development and Sanitation. Ministry of Education, Ministry of Infrastructure, housing and Urban Development. Ministry of Small and Enterprise Development. Ministry of Transport and logistics, Ministry of Information and media, Ministry of Green Economy and Environment and Ministry of Youths, Sports and Arts,” she said.

Vice-President Nalumango said 11 ministries remained unchanged.

“Ministries that are being proposed to remain unchanged are the following, Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Agriculture, Ministry of Health, Ministry of Energy, Ministry of Fisheries and Livestock, Ministry of Mines and Mineral Development, Ministry of Commerce, Trade and Industry, Ministry of Lands and Natural resources, Ministry of Labour and Social Security and Ministry of Community Development and Social services,” she said.

Vice-President Nalumango said three ministries were new, namely; Ministry of Technology and Science, Ministry of Green economy and Environment and Ministry of Small and Medium Enterprise.

Later, vice-president Nalumango thanked the House for supporting the changes.

“I would like to thank the House for supporting this motion because it is truly not controversial and it is a necessary thing that must be done. The Ministry of National Guidance and Religious Affairs has not really been abolished. If you look at the functions of subjects, you will find that they have gone to the vice president’s office and truly that is the right office to deal with issues of guidance, values and principles. I think it is a more central department of government,” she said.

“The rationale was that we want our chiefs to continue to be honorable as they are. They should be part of development. We also have been interacting with chiefs and they would not want to talk about their affairs only. With the intention of centralization it will give them more power to be part of that development agenda. We want to see our chiefs moved according to the constitution from partisan politics to actually politics of development in their areas. If you look at local government you will see that now it involves rural development so they are well placed.”

Meanwhile, Speaker of the National Assembly Nelly Mutti announced that she would chair the standing orders committees.

“In accordance with article 80 of the constitution of Zambia cap 1, of the laws of Zambia and the provisions of the standing order number 188 of the National Assembly of Zambia standing orders 2021, the following members will constitute the standing orders committee, the honorable Madam Speaker as chairperson, her honor the Vice-President and leader of government House as government business in the House. The honorable first deputy speaker, the honorable second deputy speaker, the honorable Minister of Finance, the honorable government chief whip, the honorable leader of the opposition, Mr S. Kampyongo MP, Mr M Jamba Mp, Ambassador J. Malanji MP, Mr N. Chilangwa MP and Mr G. Chonde MP,” said Speaker Mutti.

Meanwhile, the following nominated members of parliament were sworn in: Peter Kapala, Elisha Matambo, Mutinta Mazoka, Charles Milupi, Elias Mubanga, Likando Mufalali, Felix Mutati and Doreen Mwamba.